Been a while…

I think blogging is a great way to engage an audience and get quality feedback on your thinking. Recently, a lot of prominent bloggers I follow are stressing on the importance of making this a habit. The trade-off of course is between content and frequency. Today, I want to talk about a couple of interesting engagements that I am involved in.

In my spare time I am helping two ICT enabled social ventures with pitch decks, funding proposals, business model vetting, negotiations, and strategic partnerships. Also, I am working on an interesting piece of research for a venture capital alliance around the next wave of tech that will create jobs of the future. New Ventures (WRI incubated) is roping me in to make the business case for innovative water companies to set shop in south-east Asia. Finally, I am part of a global team which is trying to disrupt the BOP essential services market via business model innovation.

This piece is not intended to talk about the various projects but rather to talk about the tech thread that weaves these together. That thread is Skype. Over the last three months Skype has helped me traverse the length and breadth of the globe. My partners are all across from Colorado, New York, Sweden, Finland, Kenya, and India. Geography is not a constraint anymore. Skype is enabling global virtual teams to work on exciting problems to make the world a better place.

Over the next few days, I will be delving into each of these projects in more detail. For a couple of these projects I will soon be looking for people to onboard. I also plan to do a highlight section where I will write about an exciting new startup that I meet at any of the various events I frequent in the city or virtually. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

