Treadmills, Walkalators, Escalators, & Elevators

I go into deep thoughts creating maps to think about various aspects of life every now and then. One recent thought made me compare a treadmill, a walkalator, an escalator, and an elevator to different stages of my professional life.

Let me weigh in on this. I believe my career is just about transitioning from the treadmill to the walkalator phase. That is, from mundane tasks to a more grey cell invoking profile. I think a lot of it has to do with my Masters degree. Maybe I need to go back to school to initiate the next phase change. Maybe I don’t. Time will tell.

I bring up the education piece because I am curious to see what you guys think. Where do you see yourself today? Was it education? Was it your network? Or maybe you were at the right place at the right time?   

Hope this metaphor is useful as you evaluate where you stand and think about ways to shift your career path.

Leave a Reply

